Travis' World

News:

  • Registration is OPEN. but i do monitor every post.
    trying to prevent data scavengers, and spammers from abusing my server.
  • Forum boards can be created upon request, if you have a specific category you want to post about.
  • There have been a lot of ERRORS lately, due to me moving the website to another server. i am still getting them ironed out, please bear with me.

Dell PE R200

Travis Farmer · 395

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
on: 2018-09-17, 23:03:58
i bought a used Dell PowerEdge R200!  :D
it only cost about $35, plus shipping. my plans are to load it with AsteriskNOW, a VoIP phone system. this is mainly just for learning and experimenting.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:13:06 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #1 on: 2018-09-19, 21:06:57
well, the PE R200 came through with corrosion on one of the memory modules. i think i can clean it up with DeOxit, but who knows.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:13:41 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #2 on: 2018-09-22, 19:26:21
A little work with a toothbrush, and some CRC Electronics Cleaner (from HFT), and the R200 lives!  :o  :D
i think it still may need some cleaning where i couldn't see, but shockingly (no pun intended) it seems to work.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:13:55 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #3 on: 2018-09-23, 10:38:51
i powered up the R200 again, to check the BIOS, and i am back to the previous issue. i will have to do some more extensive cleaning i guess. it is never easy, bringing something back from the dead. if you don't clean off all the "dead", it just keeps popping up random system failures. i am suspecting the underside of the main board has a bit of corrosion, or some corrosion dust has floated back into some circuit, somewhere. i think the next cleaning will be system-wide.

I am kinda wondering if what i think is corrosion, may be salt... i have no history of the server, other than it came from Manassas, Virginia. (50 miles from the coast, 14.5 from the Potomac River) with the hurricane, it could have been exposed from a flood or building failure.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:14:07 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #4 on: 2018-09-23, 19:51:41
got the R200 working again! did a more detailed cleaning of the main board, and let it boot a Install disk to verify that it does boot. all seems good.  :D

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:14:28 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #5 on: 2018-09-25, 07:24:09
The R200 failed again, and seems to be a trend. looks like it is now a parts server.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:14:40 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #6 on: 2018-09-25, 07:47:25
so, after the failure of the R200, i am thinking of making the 4U server my VoIP gateway server. though i will need an SATA hard drive. the drives from the R200 are SAS, and are not compatible with the 4U server hardware. i still want the 4U to be a backup/file server for the network, but for now i can use it to explore VoIP. I will have to build up something to be the permanent VoIP gateway server.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:14:55 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #7 on: 2018-09-29, 20:00:34
bought another R200, that is hopefully in better condition, for about $50. still waiting on delivery.
my intention will be to make it a home for my Asterisk/FreePBX VoIP server. the 4U server install is just temporary, while i figure everything out.
the 4U server will be placed back on the back-burner, in unused status. eventually it will be a file-backup server, but for now, it will collect dust.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:15:11 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #8 on: 2018-10-07, 13:20:07
due to the R200 (the working one) not having enough memory (bought 8GB, waiting for delivery), i have moved the VoIP server back to the 4U server, perhaps permanently. not sure what i will use the R200 for, but perhaps it will do the VoIP fine, with the new memory. when the memory arrives, i will do a test install on it and see how stable it is, and if it configures faster.but for now it will be a dust collector.

~Travis
« Last Edit: 2018-11-15, 23:15:29 by Travis Farmer »

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #9 on: 2019-02-26, 09:11:32
I haven't done anything with the R200 in... well, not since the last post. other than installing the new memory, that is.

my plans are to turn it into a reverse proxy for my two websites. this way, i can add more future websites easily, without having to use the same server for all.

~Travis

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #10 on: 2019-03-02, 10:55:37
this server is now my FreeNAS server. loaded with a 160GB (OS) drive, and a 2TB (Data) drive.

~Travis

Network Administrator


Offline Travis Farmer

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
    • Karma: +1/-0
    • Gender: Male
    • Travis' World
Reply #11 on: 2020-02-12, 00:38:34
Now the CNC Controller

Network Administrator